High Road to Culture in Flanders and the Netherlands


High Road to Culture in Flanders and the Netherlands

Jente Posthuma Longlisted for the 2024 International Booker Prize

Jente Posthuma Longlisted for the 2024 International Booker Prize

What I’d Rather Not Think About by the Dutch author Jente Posthuma and translated by Sarah Timmer Harvey has been nominated for the longlist of this year’s International Booker Prize. This annual award celebrates the finest single work of fiction from around the world which has been translated into English and published in the UK and/or Ireland.

This year's longlist consists of 13 titles that have been chosen from 149 books. The judges’ selection features ‘books that speak of courage and kindness, of the vital importance of community, and of the effects of standing up to tyranny’, according to Fiammetta Rocco, Administrator of the International Booker Prize.

After Harry Mulisch, Tommy Wieringa, Lucas Rijneveld and Jaap Robben, Jente Posthuma is the fifth Dutch author to be nominated for this prestigious literature prize.

What I'd Rather Not Think About was published in 2020 by Pluim Publishers and in English translation by Scribe. In short chapters, full of melancholy and surprising humour, Posthuma tells the story of a depressed brother, seen from the perspective of the sister who both loves and resents her twin brother, struggles to understand him and misses him terribly.

‘The novel is a deeply moving exploration of grief’, the jury states. ‘Posthuma navigates delicate themes with sensitivity and formal inventiveness, portraying the nuances of the twins’ relationship and the individual struggles they face. The author skilfully inflects tragedy with unexpected humour and provides a multifaceted look at the search for meaning in the aftermath of suicide.’

The International Booker Prize is one of the most important literary prizes within the English language. The prize recognises the vital work of translators with the £50,000 prize money divided equally: £25,000 for the author and £25,000 for the translator.

Previous winners include Ismail Kadare, David Grossman, Olga Tokarczuk, Georgi Gospodinov and the Dutch author Lucas Rijneveld.

The shortlist of six books will be announced on 9 April, the winning title on 21 May.

Sign in

Register or sign in to read or purchase an article.


You are visiting this website through a public account.
This allows you to read all articles, but not buy any products.

Important to know

When you subscribe, you give permission for an automatic re-subscription. You can stop this at any time by contacting emma.reynaert@onserfdeel.be.