Last Nobel Prize for Physics of the 1900s to Dutchmen Veltman and 't Hooft
For subscribers

Last Nobel Prize for Physics of the 1900s to Dutchmen Veltman and 't Hooft

(Dirk van Delft) The Low Countries - 2000, № 8, pp. 291-292

This is an article from our print archives. Please be patient as we have to scan it

At the close of the twentieth century, the Nobel Prize for Physics again went to the Netherlands, to Martinus Veltman and his former student Gerard 't Hooft. The award provides a welcome boost for physics in the Netherlands at a time when the sciences are failing to attract students, and fundamental, high-risk research is forced to compete more and more with short-term, contract-based applied science that offers little challenge. Looking back over the century, the Dutch have no reason to complain. Since the Nobel Prize was introduced in 1901, no fewer than eight Dutch physicists received science's highest accolade. Veltman and 't Hooft received the prize for theoretical work carried out around 1970 in the field of (electro)weak interaction, one of nature's basic forces.

Continue reading?

The article you want to access is behind a paywall. You can purchase this article or subscribe to access all the low countries articles.




Sign in

Register or sign in to read or purchase an article.


You are visiting this website through a public account.
This allows you to read all articles, but not buy any products.

Important to know

When you subscribe, you give permission for an automatic re-subscription. You can stop this at any time by contacting